Pontifical Georgian College

The principal theological seminary of the Patriarchal See of the Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church.

Stained glass window of the old seal of the Pontifical Georgian College.

Pontifical Georgian College is a private theological institution that serves as the historic and principle seminary of the Imperial Old Roman Catholic Patriarchate of St. Stephen (Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church). The Patriarchate of Saint Stephen descends from the ancient Roman Catholic See of Utrecht, granted autonomy by the Holy See in 1145. It follows the calling of Saint Stephen the Deacon and Protomartyr with a specific mandate of mission work, service, and charity. The college serves the needs of the ARRCC, conferring ecclesiastical academic honors on behalf of the Holy Church under the authority of the Patriarchate of Saint Stephen. The College also fulfills the mandate of service through scientific enquiry and field research. PGC was founded in 1987 as Saint George Theological Seminary and was based in San Antonio, Texas, part of the former Viceroyalty of Spain in the Holy Roman Empire. It is historically affiliated with Rome, Italy, and Oxford, England. From its beginning, the seminary maintained a formal affiliation with Wolsey Hall, Oxford, England, and was the exclusive administrator of the theology programme in the United States. Although the College continues that relationship today, Wolsey Hall no longer offers theology courses.

In order to better serve the needs of the Church and of the seminarians, the College maintains an educational model that combined distance-based study and in-person training. Seminarians are required to be in residence at an approved ecclesiastical facility and may have additional residence requirements.

Historical document between Pontifical Georgian College (then St. George Theological Seminary)
and Wolsey Hall, Oxford.

The purpose of the college is to ensure excellence in education of the clergy of the Patriarchate of St. Stephen. For this purpose, there are five faculties: Sacred Theology, Sacred Philosophy, Canon Law, History, and Sacred Music.

The college confers the following academic honors:

Diplomate: Conferred in Sacred Theology (S.T.Dip.) and Sacred Philosophy (S.Phil.Dip.). The grade of Diplomate of Sacred Theology signifies successful completion of Minor Seminary. There are two tracks, a general one and one for those concurrently undertaking general baccalaureate education. The Diploma of Sacred Philosophy recognizes basic studies in related fields such as history or sacred music.

Licentiate: Conferred in Sacred Theology (S.T.L.), Sacred Philosophy (S.Phil.L.), and Canon Law (J.C.L.). The Licentiate in Sacred Theology or its equivalent is the prerequisite for ordination to the priesthood. The Licentiate of Sacred Philosophy recognizes advanced studies in related fields, while the Licentiate of Canon Law recognizes in-depth knowledge in that field.

Doctorate: Conferred in Sacred Theology (S.T.D.), Sacred Philosophy (S.Phil.D.), Canon Law (J.C.D.), and Sacred Letters (S.L.D.). The Doctorate of Sacred Letters is exclusively given as an honorific to recognize laymen who have made significant and outstanding contributions to theology and/or religion. The Doctorate of Sacred Theology is the terminal theological honor and signifies advanced, in-depth knowledge of theology. The Doctorate of Sacred Philosophy recognizes significant achievement in study of related fields. The Doctorate of Canon Law represents mastery of Canon Law. All doctoral honours except for the Doctorate of Sacred Letters require original research and successful defense of a dissertation.

Standard Academic Progress Chart
Minor Seminary Outline of Studies
Major Seminary Outline of Studies
Doctorate of Sacred Theology
Canon Law Outline of Studies
Sacred Philosophy Programs of Studies

Historical photos of commencement ceremonies of Pontifical Georgian College (then known as St. George Theological Seminary).
In the red doctoral toga is H.E. the late Bishop Edwin Caudill. In the black toga, then a member of the Cathedral Chapter,
is H.M.E.R.H. Mgr. Keith Steinhurst, Count of Marmande, Elector of Trier, Governor-General of the Patriarchal See.

As the sole purpose of the college is to train clergy of the ARRCC, it neither maintains nor seeks any outside accreditation. It is further the policy of both the college and the Church that a theological seminary for the purpose of training clergy is beyond the scope of review of any secular or other outside entity. However, both the college and the Church acknowledge the important role of accreditation in secular and general education. Persons seeking academic honors for the purpose of employment outside the ARRCC are encouraged to pursue said education at a general college or university accredited by an organization approved by the US Department of Education.

The Pontifical Georgian College is part of the Old Holy Roman Church of the English Rite (Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church). The Old Holy Roman Church of the English Rite is an Imperial Old Roman Catholic Patriarchate with Anglican patrimony descended from the Roman Catholic See of Utrecht. The See of Utrecht was granted autonomy from Rome by the Holy See in 1145 and has remained independent. Modernly known as the Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church (ARRCC), the Patriarchate is faithful to the magisterium of eternal Rome and the eternal One, Holy, Catholic, Apostolic, and Roman Church. While it embraces the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, the Anglican Communion, and other Catholic and Anglican bodies as brethren, they are not administratively bound with the ARRCC.


[Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church Website]










Entire Contents Copyright © 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013. Old Holy Roman Church of the English Rite
All Rights Reserved. The Old Holy Roman Church of the English Rite is a trademark.